Want to see irony? Look to the NSA

So you’ve heard about drones in the sky being used to spy on American farmers or how local police plan to use them to watch crowds to pick out odd behavior.  I’m sure you’ve heard people talk about how our government spies on us and how they violate our rights.  Generally, when you hear someone talk like this, you probably think, as I do, that this person is a nut.  Well, looks like they may have been right.  See the article below from Vision to America.

In a letter (PDF) recently sent to Senators Ron Wyden (D-OR) and Mark Udall (D-CO), the National Security Agency’s (NSA) Inspector General explains that he cannot provide an estimate of how many Americans the agency has spied on, because doing so would “would itself violate the privacy of U.S. persons.”

That letter was first obtained by reporter Spencer Ackerman at Wired. It claims that even attempting to produce an estimate of how many Americans the agency has spied on is “beyond the [Inspector General’s] capacity,” and that “dedicating sufficient additional resources would likely impede the NSA’s mission.”

Inspector General I. Charles McCullough concludes his letter by claiming that he “firmly [believes] that oversight of intelligence collection is a proper function of an Inspector General,” adding that he will “continue to work with you and the Committee to identify ways that we can enhance our ability to conduct effective oversight.”

This makes you really think, I hope.  It makes me think.  It makes me think the federal government has no respect for the Constitution or the Bill of Rights.  It makes me think we now live in a police state, and you’ve heard me say that before.

I think NSA now stands for Now Spying on Americans.  In fact, if you’d like to see more of what the NSA does to violate YOUR rights look at NSA Watch.  They have a ton of great information on how the federal government is spying on you and your family. 

To me, this is pretty scary.  Who knows how far they’re willing to go?  Who knows how far we, as citizens, are willing to let them go before we act?  I say we act now.  Contract your Senators and Representatives and let them know this is wrong, that this is unconstitutional, that we are tired of being violated.

6 Comments to “Want to see irony? Look to the NSA”

  1. Not a nut. He is a republican. Just knows that there is no way you can go back that far and look at every nut case that was spied upon because they threatened terrorism in some way be it a joke or a real threat. I don’t believe they have the capabilities that people think they have. This guy’s job is to make the groups work together to share the information they gather among the various organizations, not look into every call they might have intercepted in the past 4 years. I’m just glad NSA looks into terrorists. If you don’t live that kind of life, there should be no fear.

    • So , am I correct in understanding that you have no problem with your 4th Amendment rights being violated by federal agencies? The EPA using drones to check on farmer’s compliance, local police (I know they’re not federal) using federally subsidized drones to over look crowds in the city. There have been many cases within the last 10 years or so of your and my privacy rights violated by an overreaching government looking for terrorists, but tearing our Constitutional rights down in the process. If you give up liberty for security, you get neither.

  2. Oh no, not saying that at all! I don’t want the drones either but to leave it all up to one guy is crazy. I don’t mind them listening to suspected terrorists and people that have made threats or deal with terrorists on a known basis. But I don’t think they tend to listen to the everyday soccer moms that pose no threat. That’s just my opinion. I think the guy has good intentions but there is no way that much information could be gathered in my opinion.

    • That’s cool. I was just checking. I’ll tell you this. I work in gov’t and I’m in a position that I see a lot of the capabilities at hand. Glad you’re reading my stuff, check out my podcast, too.

  3. “Who knows how far they’re willing to go? Who knows how far we, as citizens, are willing to let them go before we act?”

    I think these are the key questions. The answer to the first is obvious — they are willing to go as far as we let them. The answer to the second is the problem — little by little our rights and privacy are destined to be given up in the name of security, in the name of entitlement, in the name of “prosperity”, in the name of “fairness”, etc. Can we really stop it?

    • I agree. That’s what being a 3%er is all about; being willing to stand up and say enough is enough. I think we can stop it, but it’s going to take a huge shift in how people think. It will probably have to get much worse before more people are willing to stand up. It’s sad, but I feel that’s the case.

Leave a Reply

