Liberal rhetoric in the office

I’m sitting here minding my own business and I hear a couple of liberals talking about the Colorado theater shooting.  They were saying the government should put more regulations on firearms.  I’m listening to them and I’m getting irritated as I’m a firm supporter of our Bill of Rights and the US Constitution.My view is that putting more restrictions will limit what the legal citizens have, but not the criminals… hence the word “criminal.”  Besides, the intent of the 2nd Amendment wasn’t to give us the right to hunt or go out plinking.  The objective was to allow the citizenry the ability to defend against a tyrannical government.

Why do these liberals always want to restrict the rights they don’t agree with and then get angry if the conservatives try to suppress something they like.  In all honesty though, it goes both ways.

Anyway, where I stand is if something is your Constitutional right, you’re not hurting anyone, or infringing on anyone else’s rights, then who cares what you do.  Saying that, if you grow your own marijuana and want to smoke it, have at it.  Don’t go spending money that goes to the drug cartels, though.  That hurts others.

If you want to own a full auto AK-47, do it.  However, if you use that weapon and assault a theater full of people, be ready to face some pretty damn stiff penalties.

It’s simple as that.  Stay out of my business and I’ll stay out of yours… until you give me a reason not to.

It’s called fundamental constitutional rights.

Leave a Reply

