The end is nigh!

It’s the end of the world as we know it!  The power grid is shutting down, the stock market has collapsed, people are out of work left and right, gas prices just jumped to a national average of $20 per gallon.

Well, that’s basically how the Dems claimed it would turn out with this sequester stuff.  Well, I know the president hasn’t yet signed the sequester, and I know it’s not going to be a good thing for a bunch of federal employees, but let’s get real.  Is it really going to be that bad for the country?  Is it really going to be a bad thing to make the government cut spending across the board?

Hell, ICE already release a ton of illegals back onto American streets to save money.  That was real smart, guys.

Just so you don’t think I’m totally anti-government, let me tell you something.  I’m not.  I’m for limited government.  You may or may not know this, but I work in federal government.  My job, like thousands of other federal employees is being looked at for furlogh right now.  While, I don’t really believe I will be furloghed, there is a chance.  The reason I don’t think I will be is because I’m an officer of the federal administrative law court.  In simpler terms, I work in a court determining if people are actually disabled or not.  We are the last in our agency to be furloghed because of our workload.

Anyway, what would I do if I were furloghed.  Well, it would really depend on how long the furlogh was projected to be.  If it was projected to be less than, say, 30 days, I’d just work around the house and spend time with my family, and ask for more hours at my part-time job.  Maybe do some fishing on warmer days or hit the gun range a few times.

However, if the furlogh is going to be more than 30 days, I’ll  go get a temporary job in private sector or I’ll ask my private sector part-time job for more hours.  Look, people, a sequester is not the end of the world.  It may be exactly what this country needs to get in line with the economic needs of the country.

Nearly anyone with a little drive can get another job if times get too tough.  That doesn’t mean you may get a job in private sector making as much or doing the same, or even similar, work as in the public sector, but there is work out there. 

You may have to go from being a manager in a Fortune 500 company to flipping burgers in a fast food joint, but it’s not the type of work you do that makes the man.

I’ve learned this the hard way in recent times.  Hell, it’s not what you’ve done or haven’t done that makes you a good or strong person, either.  This I had to learn the hard way, too.

What makes you what you should be is your commitment to your family and yourself; the fact that you’re willing to work yourself to death so that your family has the basics, at the very least, to survive and not go hungry or freeze in the winter.

It’s not about having the nice new car, the corner office, and the big house on the hill.  It’s about being grateful for what you have and working to better yourself where you can.

Why am I saying all this?  Because I had to learn all this the hard way and it’s a lesson the federal government needs to learn, too.  They need to understand that going too far in any direction isn’t good.  They need to understand that trying to be too much doesn’t work.  They really need to understand that their job is to simply govern; not make up new laws that make lobbyists happy or line the lawmakers’ pockets.  Their job is to do what’s best for the country as a whole and not force personal ideals on the nation because of a politically correct notion that the majority of the nation doesn’t care about.

I say, if the government doesn’t sequester, or learn to to curb their spending, we are doomed as a nation.  Hell, we’ve sold mass amounts of our sovereingty off in the form of Treasury Notes to other countries.  We need to get back to the basics and treat this country the way it was before all this politically correct nanny state stuff came into play.

Leave a Reply

