Internet Journey ends with the Klan

What the…?  What kind of title is that?  Well, I couldn’t think of a title that really worked, so I broad brushed it.  Basically, last night I saw this story on Fox News website about this lady who invented some goofy exercise program called “Prancercise.”  I imagine jazz hands when I see the name.  Try it… say “Pracercise” while doing the jazz hands.  Anyone see ya?  Yeah?  Sorry about that. 

Anyway, I did a quick Youtube search of this “new exercise craze” and after watching about 2 minutes of this woman in her 50s or so doing some goofy dancing exercise routine, I noticed in the sidebar something about Memphis, TN and the renaming of Forrest Park.  It’s old news, but I watched anyway.

The park is named after Confederate general Nathan Bedford Forrest.  Note that Forrest was also a member of the KKK.  He was not the founder of the Klan as many would tell you, but he was definitely a ranking member.  Because of his Confederate and Klan affiliations, the Memphis city council wanted the park renamed.  What the city council doesn’t seem to take into account is that Forrest disbanded the original KKK and spoke on race relations working to reconcile.

In 1875, Forrest demonstrated that his personal sentiments on the issue of race now differed from that of the Klan, when he was invited to give a speech before an organization of black Southerners advocating racial reconciliation, called the Independent Order of Pole-Bearers Association. At this, his last public appearance, he made what the New York Times described as a “friendly speech”during which, when offered a bouquet of flowers by a black woman, he accepted them as a token of reconciliation between the races and espoused a radically progressive (for the time) agenda of equality and harmony between black and white Americans.His speech was as follows:

 “Ladies and Gentlemen I accept the flowers as a memento of reconciliation between the white and colored races of the southern states. I accept it more particularly as it comes from a colored lady, for if there is any one on God’s earth who loves the ladies I believe it is myself. ( Immense applause and laughter.) I came here with the jeers of some white people, who think that I am doing wrong. I believe I can exert some influence, and do much to assist the people in strengthening fraternal relations, and shall do all in my power to elevate every man to depress none. (Applause.) I want to elevate you to take positions in law offices, in stores, on farms, and wherever you are capable of going. I have not said anything about politics today. I don’t propose to say anything about politics. You have a right to elect whom you please; vote for the man you think best, and I think, when that is done, you and I are freemen. Do as you consider right and honest in electing men for office. I did not come here to make you a long speech, although invited to do so by you. I am not much of a speaker, and my business prevented me from preparing myself. I came to meet you as friends, and welcome you to the white people. I want you to come nearer to us. When I can serve you I will do so. We have but one flag, one country; let us stand together. We may differ in color, but not in sentiment Many things have been said about me which are wrong, and which white and black persons here, who stood by me through the war, can contradict. Go to work, be industrious, live honestly and act truly, and when you are oppressed I’ll come to your relief. I thank you, ladies and gentlemen, for this opportunity you have afforded me to be with you, and to assure you that I am with you in heart and in hand.” (Prolonged applause)

The park is now named Health Sciences Park.  Thanks to politcal correctness, a man who changed his ways and actually supported civil rights has been dishonored.

Wait there’s more.  Seeing that story led me to the KKK’s website, so I thought I’d check it out to see what kind of BS they’d use as reason for their hatred of minorities.  Sooooo….. what did I see?

I saw love, understanding, tolerance, and Christian values – but only if they’re talking to another white bigot.  I even went so far as to watch an interview on their website.  I won’t give the website, I don’t believe they deserve the traffic.  The interviewee was talking about how he was in charge of a aggressive and violent group and that he saw the error of his ways.  Truth is, from my research is that he sucked as a leader and couldn’t keep the damn thing going, so he disbanded it.

I just can’t understand how, no matter what “logic” you throw at me, anyone can hate another race based purely on not being white.  Same to you minority power groups like the Black Israelites, Black Panthers, La Raza, and so on.  Don’t hate me because I’m white; hate me because of something substantial like my political views or my actions.

All these hate-filled people are, in my book, idiots.  They expect us to see their way and then attack people for NOT  agreeing with them.

What really gets me is the sheer stupidity on some of the people involved.  Many in the Klan love Nathan Bedford Forrest because of his role in the earliest years of their movement.  The Memphis city council hates him for the same reason.  What they both fail to realize is that Forrest was a man changed, as you see from his speech above.  Open your eyes, people, all of you.  History speaks for itself.

Leave a Reply

