Edward Snowden – Hero or Traitor?

Folk, lets call today’s situation what it is.  We are in a revolution and we are fighting for our political lives.  Whether you are a conservative, liberal, or somewhere in the middle, you should care about the root of this issue: the NSA domestic spy program.

You’ve probably heard by now about Edward Snowden’s plight as the whistleblower who opened the door to the public’s scrutiny of the NSA and their secret domestic spy program.  He shed light on the lies the NSA director told when he said that these intelligence gathering programs would not target ordinary American citizens.

Mr. Snowden said in an interview with the UK’s The Guardian:

“Any analyst at any time can target anyone. Any selector. Anywhere,” Snowden said. “I, sitting at my desk, had the authority to wiretap anyone, from you or your accountant to a federal judge to even the president if I had a personal email.”

That kind of power is scary and the thought that the NSA is using that kind of power in the manner they’re accused of is even scarier.  Snowden went on to say:

“My sole motive is to inform the public as to that which is done in their name and that which is done against them.”

His reasoning makes sense to me.  I mean, if he were doing what he did for personal gain, then it makes no sense.  He was living and working in Hawaii and making somewhere around $200,000 per year.  Essentially, the guy had it made and he gave it all up.

In a note accompanying the first set of documents he provided to the newspaper, Snowden wrote: “I understand that I will be made to suffer for my actions,” but “I will be satisfied if the federation of secret law, unequal pardon and irresistible executive powers that rule the world that I love are revealed even for an instant.”

Snowden told the Post he was not going to hide.

“Allowing the U.S. government to intimidate its people with threats of retaliation for revealing wrongdoing is contrary to the public interest,” he said in the interview published Sunday. Snowden said he would “ask for asylum from any countries that believe in free speech and oppose the victimization of global privacy.”

In my book, he’s Paul Revere reincarnated.

So is this guy a hero or a traitor?  I say hero.  Why?  If you have to question why I think he’s a hero of the new American Revolution, go back up and read his quotes again. 

I know that there are now combat missions being run by either side, there is no organized rebel army, nothing like that.  But this is a revolution just the same.  It’s a revolution of truth and honor; a revolution of speaking out and exposing corruption and lies;  it’s a revolution with soft gloves on, but on hands that will bitch slap the elite when they get out of line.

I just hope he has more information to give before they make him disappear.

5 Comments to “Edward Snowden – Hero or Traitor?”

  1. Why would anyone question this? The man is A HERO! Most of us knew most of this was going on but This much surprised even me.

    • You’d be surprised. There are people I work with who have the mentality that spying on us is ok. They seem to think Snowden should be punished. I tend to think they’re crazy.

      • They are crazy. Look at the shape the united states are in now. there are so many illegal things going on in our government that I think it should all be scarped and started over again, with a better plan. That is my hope, but most people are just going to forget about it. they forgot Bengazhi, the IRS, spying and controlling the new media, spying on the citizens, etc. Most are excepting this as business as usual. WE MUST NOT go long with it.

  2. For many of us it is obvious he is a hero, but this country is filled with sheeple that can’t or won’t think for themselves. If he is in Russia as reported today he is no safer than if he was here in the US. I hope he has a plan to get his info. out even if they kill him.

    • You’re right. I just hope he doesn’t turn and sell any actual state secrets to anyone of these countries he’s traveled to. That would be a disappointment.

Leave a Reply

