Logan Stevenson: Held by angels

Every so often you see or hear a story that just tears you to pieces.  It could be that of a child, a hero, or any number of things that really just pull at your heartstrings.  Many news stories, whether personal in nature or not, tend to just be footnotes in our busy lives.  However, being a father, this one caught my attention and I felt emotionally attached to this family.

The other day, I read story of a 2 year old boy in Pennsylvania that was diagnosed shortly after his first birthday with acute myeloid leukemia. He has Fanconi anemia, a rare disease that often leads to cancer.  His parents were not married, but were planning to wed in July 2014.  With Logan Stevenson’s diagnosis, the couple decided to push the wedding up so that their little boy could be a part of the wedding and so that he would be in the pictures.

The couple, Sean and Christine Stevenson, were married on August 3, 2013 with little Logan present as the best man.  Today, Christine announced through her Facebook page that Logan passed away in her arms at 8:18 pm last night.

A family spokeswoman, Sylvia Johnson, confirmed the boy’s death for The Associated Press on Tuesday.

His mother says on Facebook, “He is with angels and he’s in no more pain.”

She posted that her son was doing poorly. His breathing was rapid, and slowed. She alerted a person from the hospice, and after an exam, was informed her did not have much time.

“Sean (his father) and I held him all day he was comfortable with his medication then at 8:18 my son took his last breath in my arms,” her post said.

Logan stood with his grandmother, Debbie Stevenson, during a 12-minute wedding ceremony Saturday uniting Logan’s mother and his father, Sean Stevenson.

After a whirlwind week, the Jeannette couple tied the knot in a hastily arranged backyard ceremony that formalized their union and celebrated Logan’s life.

Things like this make you think.  Little Logan was given just weeks to live and died 2 days after the wedding of his parents.  The lesson I took from this story is that you don’t have to be in the race for a very long time at all to make an impact.  The amount of time you spend has little to do with the impact you make.  It’s more the quality of time you have together.

In this case, Logan was able to be in the wedding and family photos.  Now, I know he made an impact from the day he was born, but being in the wedding just 2 days before passing really just cements it. 

I’m sure Logan’s parents are asking why their little boy was taken at such a young age and in such a manner.  I know if one of my boys were taken from me like that, I’d feel that way.  I have nothing to say that would console the Stevensons.  I wouldn’t know what to say.  I can’t imagine what they’re going through, and I don’t even want to try to pretend I can.

The only thing I can do is pray they find the strength to carry on, to remember the joy they had with young Logan, and for God to hold them and take their pain away soon.

One Comment to “Logan Stevenson: Held by angels”

  1. I. Like the author. Became optionally attached to this story. I like what the author had to say. Poor little fella. Thanks for the article.

Leave a Reply

